Opium Travel Kit

Forums Site Forums General Forum Opium Travel Kit

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Pipe Dreams

Thanks OpiumPipe for creating such a nicely designed site devoted to our shared obsession. I have been collecting for about 15 years now and was pleased to discover these forums.

Below are some photos of one of my pieces, an opium travel set, which, I believe, was produced in the United States (the shape of the box, use of screws, type of wood, hardware, and velvet lining all suggest an American manufacturer). Any insights into the origin of the piece would be more than welcome. Over the years, I have seen two similar kits, one was in Steve Martin’s collection (we were good friends and communicated often about our shared obsession).

theOpiumPipe

Thanks very much, Pipe Dreams, and welcome!

That is a very cool find. I agree that the case’s fittings do look American, they remind me of a lot of American and English furniture fittings I’ve seen. Are there any markings stamped on the bowl?

The CINARC pages on opium antiques have a lot of information about pipe bowls that were imported into North America: http://www.cinarc.org/Opium.html

You could also try looking up Priscilla Wegars at the University of Idaho, since Steve’s collection was left in her care, and she specializes in both Asian-American archaeology and American material culture.

I wouldn’t be able to guess where the pipe was made… the bamboo’s mottling is distinctive and I haven’t seen fittings like the endcaps with that exact profile. Maybe it was made in North America somewhere! The lamp looks like it has a distinctive style as well, a similar utilitarian vibe.

I’d love to see more of your collection, if you’re interested in posting it.

Pipe Dreams